Showing Collections: 126 - 150 of 1184
Brian W. Blouet papers
Collection contains correspondence from 1942-1984 of Prof. Brian W. Blouet regarding the biography he wrote "Halford MacKinder: A Biography" (College Station: Texas A & M University Press, 1987). Includes research papers, such as photocopied correspondence of H. MacKinder from the Hamilton Fish Armstrong Papers at Princeton University Library. Also includes 6 photographs relating to MacKinder. The collection also includes a draft of the ninth edition of The Story of Malta.
Laura Bridgman Letter
Letter written in pencil in widely spaced block type letters by Laura Bridgman to Alexander. She states that "Mrs. M. requested me to earnestly write you a note" and (Mrs. M., his mother) was "delighted to hear from you." Wishes him well and hopes he will return home soon. December 1, 1857.
Kenneth E. Brigham Papers
Papers of Kenneth E. Brigham (1921-1970) of Newport News, Virginia, consisting of correspondence, photographs and ephemera.
Bright Family Papers
Roeliff Brinkerhoff Letter
Letter from Roeliff Brinkerhoff, Mansfield, Ohio, on Ohio Board of State Charities letterhead, to Mr. Miller thanking him for his friendly comments on Brinkerhoff's book, "Recollections of a Lifetime." August 27, 1900. Roeliff Brinkerhoff founded the Ohio State Archaeological and Historical Society.
Bristow Family Papers
John P. Brock Papers
Letters written by John P. Brock, a soldier in the Mexican War, from the headquarters of the Virginia Regiment at Camp Buena Vista at Monterey, Mexico, to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Archibald Brock, Rockingham County, Va. Includes copy of a tintype of John P. Brock in uniform, added 2017.
Brodnax Papers
Letters written to John Wilkes Brodnax concerning genealogy of the Brodnax family. Many letters written by members of the Brodnax family. Includes genealogical data on Bathurst, Munford, Perkins, Smith, Holmes, and Walker families. Includes a photograph of Brodnax at work on a bust of Hunter McGuire and two publications by Brodnax on art and anatomy.
William H. Brodnax Papers
Letters, 1825-1834, addressed to William H. Brodnax of Hicks Ford, Greensville County, Va. by Robert R. Barton; Thomas Ruffin (12 October 1829, concerning his opposition to changes in the Virginia Constitution); R. B. Starke (concerning a letter purportedly by [William ?] Maxwell advocating the abolition of slavery); and Robert W. Withers of Greene County, Ala.
Francis T. Brooke Letter
This collection consists of a letter written by Francis T. Brooke in St. Julien, Virginia concerning the political climate of Virginia in relation to the presidential elections of 1820 and 1824. Brooke describes fractures and shifts in party support, and interprets the reasons for Virginia's support of William Crawford in the election of 1824. The letter is addressed to a Mr. Loring.
Broome Family Papers
Alexander Brown Papers (I)
Alexander Brown Papers (II)
Charles Brown Papers
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Edwin Y. Brown Papers
Letters of Edwin Y. Brown, Union officer, to his family describing the Battle of Williamsburg, Virginia., with a later manuscript reminiscence of the Peninsular Campaign.
Emma L. Brown Papers
Brown Family Papers
Henry James Brown Papers
J. Willcox Brown and Turner Macfarland Letters
Contains 2 bound letterbooks. One volume has letters from J. Willcox Brown to Ellen Turner Macfarland, and the other volume contains her letters to him.There is also a microfilm reel of the correspondence.
James W. Brown, Jr. Papers
This collection is composed entirely of a scrapbook containing the correspondence of James 'Jimmy' W. Brown, Jr. while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1936-1937. He was a student at William and Mary from 1936-1940. The letters have been pasted into the scrapbook.
John Brown Letter to James Brown
One letter from John Brown of Philadelphia to his brother, James Brown. The letter concerns life in the military. Brown describes the conduct of Benjamin Logan, Colonel of the Kentucky County, Virginia militia, the sale of Brown's property on Potts Creek in Virginia, and the possible resignation of General Arthur St. Clair from the army.
Dabney Browne Letter to G. Southall
One letter from Dabney Browne, a professor at the College of William and Mary, to G. Southall concerning the room and board for members of the Jones family. He states the Jones' would have to sleep in a room without a fireplace and sit in the family sitting room. The charge for board would be 120 dollars each, with a tuition fee of 20 dollars.